Williamson County Visitor Center
Stop in the Visitor Center for maps, brochures and info on self-guided walking tours including the Franklin iPad Tour App: Visit Franklin. The Nashville's Trace and The Jack Trail self-guided driving tour brochures are also available here. Also ask about Franklin on Foot guided tours with subjects like history, Civil War and ghost stories. Check out the NEW Franklin iPad Tour App – Featuring over 260 photos, this free download from iTunes tells the history and the stories of Franklin’s 16-block downtown district, listed in the National Historic Register. iPads available at visitors center
400 Main Street Franklin, TN 37064
From Franklin Sq. roundabout, turn R onto E. Main St. to pt. 1 in center of block.
Franklin Town Square and Monument
This monument was erected in 1899 to honor Tennessee's Confederate soldiers of the Civil War.
3rd Ave. N Franklin, TN 37064
Return to roundabout. At Main St. & 3rd Ave. N., turn R onto 3rd Ave. N. Turn L onto Bridge St./ Hwy 96W.
More About: Franklin's Historic Downtown
Founded in 1799, Franklin’s historic downtown has made a successful and sustained effort to preserve the history of the original square and surrounding businesses and homes. This charming 16-block historic district is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The square is surrounded by beautiful Victorian architecture, giving visitors a glimpse of history, along with unique shopping and one-of-a-kind restaurants to explore. The Old Tennessee Trail ends right here where it begins, so you’ll have another chance to discover downtown Franklin (including the historic Visitor Center, point 1) after you’ve finished the trail.
Harvey McLemore House
This house was built by a former slave and remained in the family for over a century. Today, the historic home is a museum, and one of the few freedmen's residences still standing in the area. Open by appointment.
446 11th Ave. N. Franklin, TN 37064
From TN-96W , turn R onto 11th Ave. N. to pt. 3.
Boyd Mill Avenue Historic District
(Private Residences) The district features Colonial Revival, Folk Victorian, Bungalow and Cottage residences constructed in the early through mid-20th century. Magnolia Hall is the exception: an 1840 residence in the Italianate Style, built by Irish immigrant and banker William S.Campbell, who started the first national bank to open in Middle Tennessee after the Civil War. It features a cupola and widows walk, uncommon architecture for the mid-South.
600 Boyd Mill Pk. Franklin, TN 37064
Go W on TN-96W for 0.3 mile, turn L onto Glass Ln. to pt. 4. Take a short drive around pt. 4, return to TN-96W.
Originally the Knights of Pythias Pavilion, this glass-domed and wooden structure was constructed by the fraternal organization for the Tennessee Centennial Exposition in 1897, for which Nashville's famous Parthenon was also constructed. Also known as Carlisle House, the building was actually dismantled and moved from the exhibition site (now Nashville's Centennial Park) in 1900 by Joseph Parks, supposedly to impress a woman he was courting. Perched on its rocky knoll, this property has witnessed over a century of change.
1015 Carlisle Ln. Franklin, TN 37064
Continue W on Hwy 96W for 1.3 miles to view pt. 5 up on hill.
This site, in the heart of the Westhaven Community, encompasses several historic farms and their family cemeteries, including that of William White. White, cousin of Franklin founder Abram Maury, bought the property in 1799 as part of a land grant from pioneer settler James Robertson, the founder of Nashville. Three generations of the White family are buried here in the William White Cemetery. If you are an animal lover, Animalia Gifts offers designer collars, fresh homemade treats and additional trail information.
3105 Boyd Mill Pk. Franklin, TN 37064
Continue W on TN-96W, turn L onto Boyd Mill Pk. Take immediate R and continue to parking area for pt. 45.
More About: Artifacts Found in Animalia
Prehistoric artifacts found in the area suggest that Native Americans lived here 15,000 years ago. Nearby glass mounds are remnants of the mound-builders culture from the Mississippian Period (900-1500 A.D.)
In the fall, stop to pick a pumpkin, explore a corn maze, and experience rural life. This land has been owned by the Gentry family since 1849, and its 400 acres remain a working farm with three Civil War-era homes (Private Residences). Open weekends, end of Sept.-Oct.
1974 New Hwy 96W Franklin, TN 37064
Continue W on TN-96W for 0.1 mile to pt. 7.
More About: A Century Farm
A Century Farm is a farm that has been continuously owned by a family for 100 years or more. There are 48 certified Century Farms in Williamson and Maury Counties.
You're crossing the West Harpeth River, which flows into the Harpeth. You'll soon pass through the historic Bingham Community, a once-thriving rural area with churches, businesses, schools, and Boyd's Mill.
4088 Old Hillsboro Rd. Franklin, TN 37064
Continue W on TN-96W for 1.6 miles, turn L onto TN-46W/Old Hillsboro Rd.
Built in 1856, this Greek Revival-style house was home to the owner of Bingham's community store.
4088 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Go SW on TN-46W for 2.1 miles to pt. 9.
This is the only historic village on the Tennessee portion of the Natchez Trace Parkway. Originally named Bentonville, it was founded by Thomas Hart Benton's mother and grew around a store, a log school and church. Stop here and experience historic architecture and modern charm, where a fine art gallery is a neighbor to a grocery store that moonlights as a music venue. This special place is home to farmers, talented artists and musicians (yes, some very famous) who appreciate its down-home feel and peaceful rolling hills.
4144 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Continue SW on TN-46W for 2.4 miles to pt. 10.
More About: Leiper's Fork
4,000-year-old relics found in this area indicate that Leiper's Fork served as an important hunting ground for prehistoric Native Americans who later evolved into the tribes we know as the Cherokee, Chickasaw, and Shawnee. Leiper's Fork was settled in the late 1790s by pioneering Revolutionary War veterans from North Carolina and Virginia who were given land grants as payments for their service. The village got its first post office in 1818 and began to be known as Leiper's Fork, after Hugh Leiper, an early surveyor. The early 20th century was also a prosperous time for the little village, with general stores, the Middle Tennessee Railroad, lumber mills, blacksmiths, churches and a school. Today, it is a thriving community of farmers, artists, and musicians living a rural life just outside of Nashville. Leiper's Fork is the only historic village on the Tennessee portion of the Natchez Trace Parkway.
Visit this gallery to view the work of this nationally known artist, and browse originals, giclees, signed posters, prints, note cards and more featuring his signature use of inspired symbolism, texture, color and composition.
4136 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Country Boy Restaurant
Serving daily since 1968, you can order breakfast any time, plus a variety of full-flavored country fare. Breakfast & lunch, daily; dinner, Tues.-Sat.
4141 Old Hillsboro Road Leipers Fork, TN 37064
More About: Southern Comfort Food
Restaurants offering Southern comfort food are often termed a meat and three because diners select one meat and three vegetables from the daily menu.
Happily serving Leiper's Fork as a restaurant, grocery and meeting place since the 1950s, locals and celebrities alike take the stage and enjoy the famous burgers.
4142 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Located in the heart of downtown, locals gather here for family-oriented movies, music and community events.
4144 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Pt. 14 is behind pt. 15. Events here are free.
Leiper's Creek Gallery
Nashville's #1 art destination includes Leiper's Creek Gallery, The Copper Fox and David Arms at the Barn at Leiper's Fork including fine art, paintings, sculpture and American craft artists.
4144 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Laurel Leaf Gallery
Shop for expertly crafted items like jewelry, fiber art, and pottery, created by gifted area artisans who celebrate the enduring grace of nature and art.
4145 Old Hillsboro Rd Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Joe Natural’s Farm Store & Café
Enjoy organically grown fare inside the 1882 Thomas Carl House where Joe offers everything from vegetarian bowls to juicy grass-fed burgers. Stroll through the Farm Store for vegetables, baked goods and more.
4150 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
This unique shop specializes in 19th- and early 20th-century French and Italian chandeliers, iron-stone, farm tables, European textiles and jewelry. Closed Mon. & Tues
4149 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
Named after a store that once stood on the site, this 1995 structure contains salvaged materials from an 1880 schoolhouse and an 1882 former home. Its an award-winning example of reclaimed resources and historic preservation.
4151 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064
This 1882 home was originally built for the Sam Sweeney family and now houses offices.
4154 Old Hillsboro Rd. Leipers Fork, TN 37064